Early Years Foundation Stage


The Early Years Foundation Stage looks at the stages of development from birth to the end of the child’s first year in school ( 0 - 5 years).

These years see the greatest growth within a child's learning and development.

The EYFS is based on 4 overarching principles which shape practice in early years settings:

A unique child

Every child is a unique. They are consistently learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling environments

Children learn and develop well in environments where their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents.

Learning & Development

The framework covers the education and care of your child within the early years setting, including children with additional needs.

The EYFS supports practitioners to provide play experiences that enable children to expand their knowledge and skills to support their individual learning and development within early years. Practitioners will recognise your child’s strengths and areas they may need additional support with. It is important for your child to feel secure in their surroundings, this is aided by having a ‘Key Person’ within the setting who will get to know you and your child well and build a strong and interactive relationship with you both.

Please click the icon below for a full guide on the Early Years Foundation Stage.